Books to inspire

The last six months were a heady few months to say the least with the launch of our book “We are not the Enemy: The Practice of Advocacy in Singapore” edited by Margaret Thomas and Constance Singam and published by Ethos and to learn that the sale of the book surpassed all expectations. To top it all the book received an extremely positive review in the Straits Times.

The reviewer Clement Yong ( Thank you Clement) wrote that the Ethos published book “We Are Not The Enemy is seminal for this reason, [ because civil society activists  are often demonised] for it [the book] rather calmly provides a platform for some of the best known names of civil society to share their experiences, in the process reaching out to those who are curious but who may yet be reluctant to lend explicit support or show up at meetings…

There is little stridency, or at least where there is, it is usually quickly tempered with reasoned persuasion and sometimes even avuncular advice: Those who have invested so much of their time in bettering Singapore know that righteous agitation goes only so far and can even be counterproductive…

The writings are realistic and pragmatic, offering strategies that emphasise persistence and patience, specific rather than broad-brushed criticism, and community building that cannot be rushed – a “slow, messy and non-linear process that moved at the pace of relationships…

For a digestible 300-page anthology, We Are Not The Enemy covers remarkable ground…

This polyvocal, mature state of affairs is a second wind that will only pick up further – an increasing force of social conscience to be reckoned with.” The Straits Times 20 Apr 2024

I am left to my own devices for the first time in a year now and I am free from obligations and deadlines for the first time and am able to return to my “normal” life. I needed this alone time – the solitude- to appreciate that the  maddening rush of the last six months has been intellectually challenging and nourishing, energising and socially enriching and to view this my life, at my age, in amazement.

I am most grateful for the heightened activities of the last six months but I am relieved to be left alone.  I do love the time I have for myself in the morning, to be able to wake up slowly, loll around in bed, think and enjoy the comfort of my bed and home. Not rushing out of bed is the part of the morning I am most appreciative of. As I get older any disturbance in the morning, like an unexpected caller leaves me  scattered and de-centred and which usually   affect the quality of my whole day. My old age seem to demand more solitude, more quiet time for myself and fewer challenges that require my attention.

But then there is a new challenge – how do I avoid unconsciously slipping into boredom and indolence?

‘Life,’ Paulo Coelho says ‘has a way of testing a person’s will, either by having nothing happen at all or by having everything happen at once.’

Such is life!

PS. There is another exciting book launch coming up on Tuesday 25th June.

Thinking about Singapore’s Tomorrow
A diverse group of writers share their thoughts about the society they hope will take shape in Singapore in the years ahead

Date and time

Tuesday, June 25 · 5:30 – 7pm GMT+8

Location

Chui Huay Lim Club

190 Keng Lee Road Singapore, 308409

2 thoughts

  1. I’m so curious about your phrase “civil society activists.” Is this a movement to create better citizenship, cooperation throughout society, unity, each person making their surroundings a better place? We really need that here in the USA… It seems people are only out for their own needs/wants, and we take out our frustrations on each other. (I try to cultivate patience and kindness and I am sure lots of other people do, too, but…)

    Congrats on your book launch!

    Like

Leave a comment