Year End Musings (2)

new year

hibiscus
There are in our existence spots of time,
That with distinct pre-eminence retain
A renovating virtue, whence, depressed
By false opinion and contentious thought,
Or aught of heavier or more deadly weight,
In trivial occupations, and the round
Of ordinary intercourse, our minds
Are nourished and invisibly repaired;
A virtue, by which pleasure is enhanced,
That penetrates, enables us to mount,
When high, more high, and lifts us up when fallen.
(William Wordsworth. The Prelude Book12)
(As the year ends I am channelling William Wordsworth.)
It has been an incredibly peaceful and happy year, doing just enough to keep me engaged, my brain exercised and my soul nourished.   In 2018 I have been “nourished and invisibly repaired’. I can enjoy the pure bliss of waking up in the morning with no rush, no schedules, and no deadlines. 20181231_114841It is pure bliss to know that the day is entirely mine; it is pure bliss to be welcomed in the morning with the sight of  the glorious yellow hibiscus;
;garden 2It is pure bliss to sit in my little garden, with a cup of coffee and watch the sun bird as it flits about; it is pure bliss to make myself french toast and eat it at leisure; it is pure bliss to be surrounded by a supporting community of friends. I have been blessed and that alone is bliss.
garden3
I welcome the New Year with hope and gratitude and wish you all a year filled with joy, peace and good health.new year

 

 

Leave a comment